#Bookreview ‘Baudolino by Umberto Eco #ccbookreviews #TuesdayBookBlog


Today I’m reviewing, as part of my 50 classics challenge, ‘Baudolino’ by Umberto Eco

Translated from Italian to German by Burkhart Kroeber

Baudolino Umberto Eco

 

Blurb (from Amazon):

It is 1204, and Constantinople is being sacked and burned by the knights of the fourth Crusade. Amid the carnage and confusion Baudolino saves a Byzantine historian and high court official from certain death at the hands of the crusading warriors, and proceeds to tell his own fantastical story.

Did I like it?

As I’m a ‘fan’ of the writing of the late Umberto Eco. Yes, I most certainly do. Although I read the book in its German translation, I guess I could safely put my trust into the work of Burkhart Kroeber. Eco knew how to tell a story. A story without limits to his fantasy. Holy roman emperor picks up a boy in a swamp in Italy. Takes the boy with him. And from then on the story unfolds. In the later part of the book, you get all the mystical creatures from Medieval maps you can imagine.

What I didn’t like

Just a little technical thing. Some parts in the German edition are printed using a strange type face. As I read the book in bed before sleeping. And my sight is deteriorating. This type face was very hard to read. Apart from this technical stuff, the answer to the question is: Nothing, as usual.

Would I recommend it?

You’re a fan of Eco? You’re open to something a bit different than ‘The Name of the Rose’ by Eco? Read it! 18 out of 20 points.

Leave a Reply

