#BookReview ‘The Samurai Code’ by Steven Moore #SundayBlogShare


Today I’m reviewing ‘The Samurai Code’ by Steven Moore.

The Samurai Code Steven Moore

Blurb (from Goodreads):

One lethal storm. One deadly criminal. One ancient code. Expedition leader Hiram Kane is in Japan when the storm of the century hits. He joins the rescue mission as flash floods cause chaos, death and destruction. Yakuza boss Katashi Goto is retiring from the mob. Before he does, there is one more thing to achieve: revenge over a centuries old enemy. When their two very different worlds collide, Kane is forced to make a choice. He has always known honour is worth fighting for. When challenged by Katashi, he has to decide if it is also worth dying for.

Did I like it?

That’s a very complicated question. Does the book and my interpretation of what I could expect after reading the blurb match? Not really. Am I thus disappointed? Not really. I expected something more in depth about Japanese culture, Bushido in particular. It is about and at the same time it isn’t.

What I didn’t like

Nothing and that’s exactly the problem I have with this book. I can’t tell you why or what but I feel there is something missing. The author lives in Mexico, the MC lives in Peru. And this could be my problem. I still have the feeling that the MC is just at the wrong place (for my expectations, that is)

Would I recommend it?

Yes, the book is still worth it’s 17 out of 20 points on my scale. It’s just not what I expected to read Maybe just not the right moment

Leave a Reply

