#Bookreview ‘The Jade Lady’ by Patrick Wayland


Today I’m reviewing ‘The Jade Lady’ by Patrick Wayland

The jade lady Patrick Wayland

Blurb (from Amazon):
When Lance Roven, a software engineer working in Hong Kong, is called back home to his grandfather’s deathbed, his grandfather asks him to handle the contents of a safe deposit box and then does something Lance can’t believe – he speaks Chinese.

This sets Lance off on a trail of clues, following an old map to Taiwan where he meets the beautiful museum researcher Annie Lee. Together they work to uncover a secret buried for 60 years while racing against Chinese spies to find a treasure and forgotten WWII treaty that could reignite a civil war.

Did I like it?

Yes. But I’ve still no idea what I liked about the book. Apart from the fact that I never ever read something about Taiwan. Which was interesting, at least. Story is kind of interesting, I’ll have to admit I do have a certain… Love for? Attraction to? Southeast/East Asia.

What I didn’t like?

The same answer as to the question before. I can’t exactly say what I do not like. It’s nothing in particular; everything seems a bit flat, a bit sketchy. I would have preferred to have a bit more depth. Main characters, history, a bit of everything.

Would I recommend it?

Beach read, nothing more. 14 out of 20 points.

Leave a Reply

