#Bookreview ‘Der Name der Rose’ by Umberto Eco #ccbookreviews


Today I’m reviewing, as part of my ‘50 classics challenge’

Der Name der Rose’ by Umberto Eco

Translated from Italian by Burkhard Kroeber

Eco_Der Name der Rose

Blurb (from Amazon):
The year is 1327. Franciscans in a wealthy Italian abbey are suspected of heresy, and Brother William of Baskerville arrives to investigate. When his delicate mission is suddenly overshadowed by seven bizarre deaths, Brother William turns detective. His tools are the logic of Aristotle, the theology of Aquinas, the empirical insights of Roger Bacon—all sharpened to a glistening edge by wry humour and a ferocious curiosity. He collects evidence, deciphers secret symbols and coded manuscripts, and digs into the eerie labyrinth of the abbey, where “the most interesting things happen at night.”

Did I like it?

It might be necessary to start with: I love this book. I truly do, all of it. The mystery part, the long excerpts of philosophy, the scenery. Everything.

It has, in my opinion, the best sex scene ever written. The violence is not unnecessarily over descriptive. The characters are as descriptive as necessary (Especially William and Adso).

The language is awesome. As I haven’t read the original. Either the translator did an awesome job in rewriting the book in German. Or he delivered a perfect translation. (Knowing that Eco was Professor of Semiotics)

What I didn’t like?

Maybe one little exception of my praise, the story how Eco found the ancient manuscript is…I don’t know.

Would I recommend it?

You like mystery? Philosophy? The Middle Ages? WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

4 thoughts on “#Bookreview ‘Der Name der Rose’ by Umberto Eco #ccbookreviews

  1. This is an excellent review, Markus! You earned 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 for this highly enjoyable review.
    If I weren’t so lazy, I might read the original, to make my life easier, I’d read the English translation. 😉

    Regarding the translation part… 1. One of our professors at university recommended to only read originals. We sat there – all translators to be – thunderstruck. 2. As a professional translator you learn to translate the style as well; i.e. assuming that Burkhard Kroeber is a professional, all elements of style have made it to the German version as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much. I’m kind of a professional translator but unfortunately not (yet) for literature. My Italian is good enough to get something to eat, a train ticket and a hotel room. Not for reading Eco. English, French null problemo (forgot which planet ALF came from) 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Melmac. How could I forget that. Was my preparation for training. The weekly episode of ALF and of to the VB training. Nix perestroika, nix glasnost, nitschewo, njet. I loved it and still do.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

