On music


The advantage of having only three subscribers to my blog gives me the possibility of writing about whatever I want to. I sincerely hope that I won’t loose one of my subscribers in doing so.

Today, I’d like to take about the music I’m listening to. I can’t talk about the music I’m making cause….this does not exist. I’m singing under the shower only and can’t play an instrument (Can’t paint either). Don’t want to insult people.

Nowadays, most of the time, it’s the radio. One station in Belgium, Classic21. Only one exception, there is one DJ I simply can’t stand. Every time he’s on I HAVE TO switch of the radio and listen to one of my CDs. I won’t tell his name but he’s on Sunday afternoon and Thursday evening. Not that I don’t like the music he’s playing I just can’t stand his voice and his way of talking, I can’t. I just can’t, not even for five minutes.

Do I have a taste in my music, sure mine. Which means: Blues, classic Rock, Punk. A bit of Irish Folk (Dubliners and the fantastic mixture, The Pogues) A lot of Van Morrison. A bit of Jazz. And more and more classical music. Started with mostly piano music and meanwhile I’m capable of listening to violin. Even to some, not many Operas.

How did all of that start ?

The first thing I can remember is a photo of me taken one Christmas Eve. One of my presents was Queen: Jazz. I still own this vinyl although I don’t have a turntable any more. As I can’t throw away books, I can’t throw away my records either. Flickering to the box where my records are stored. I can find Beatles, Kinks, Queen, Springsteen, Bob Seger., U2 (although I can’t stand their new stuff, don’t think it’s the music. Must be something else). No Led Zeppelin (My alarm is Kashmir and although they say if you want to hate a song make it your alarm, it’s not working for Kashmir!) No Blues, No classical music.

The first CD I ever bought was Alchemy from Dire Straits. The first Blues was ‘The best of Muddy Waters”. The first classical ? Tchaikovsky Piano Concert No. 1.

When I’m writing I can’t listen to Punk but a nice Classical CD makes the ink flow. Bach, the Brandenburg Concertos, works wonders if you’ve no idea what to write (not always but most of the time). It even helps cooking; OK, for Christmas cooking it has to be ‘Christmas with the Rat Pack’.

In the end I don’t think I could listen to any text based music while I’m writing. And as I choose my music now more than ever based on the lyrics. This leaves me with either classical music (instrumental) or Jazz.

Do I still buy music ? Less and less, I’m just not OK with the prices they ask for a simple CD. Streaming music ? I never spent a thought about. Internet based radio ? There was something like Free or Last FM I used for a while, should give it another try if it still exists. Can’t even remember why I stopped using it ?

Am I influenced by the music I’m listening to? By the books I’m reading? Certainly, but I think mostly by the fact of no longer having TV !

As an example of the text based music, a small except from…Just guess.

“You’re a bum
You’re a punk
You’re an old slut on junk
Lying there almost dead on a drip in that bed
You scumbag, you maggot
You cheap lousy faggot
Happy Christmas your arse
I pray God it’s our last”

Awesome that guy. The only singer I know you have problems to understand the announcement but no problem when he’s singing. And the only one who finished his concerts completely hammered. The other members of the band excusing themselves that the concert HAS TO be over. One bottle Jack Daniels in 80 minutes.

And now I have five hours left until the Flamenco concert of this evening. Should be nice although it’s in a church….

2 thoughts on “On music

  1. First thank you, second I guess music won’t be that often the topic but occasionally on a Friday. It’s possible. It’s not the first time that I “visit” a flamenco performance but for the first time in a church.

    Like

Leave a Reply

